Adams State honors many dedicated faculty and staff

ALAMOSA — The annual Adams State University Employee Recognition Ceremony honored many faculty and staff members.

Faculty who received promotions included: Dr. James Doyle, associate professor of music; Dr. Elizabeth Hensley, associate professor of business; Dr. Stephanie Hensley, associate professor of teacher education; Dr. Adam Kleinschmit, associate professor of biology; Dr. Renee Beeton, professor of chemistry; Dr. Jeff Elison, professor of psychology; and Dr. Patricia Robbins, professor of business.

Tenure was awarded to: Doyle, Stephanie Hensley, Kleinschmit, and Sanders.

Faculty and staff honored for Years of Service includes:

Twenty-Five Years: Linda Jones, accounting technician III; Lori Laske, director of Alumni Relations; Tammy Lopez, executive director of Foundation; Ken Marquez, vice president for Student Services;

Twenty Years: Dr. Rob Benson, professor of earth sciences; Beneranda Chacon, Perkins loan officer; Otis Hager, telecommunications electronics specialist; Mary Hoffman, executive director of Community Partnerships; Demetrius Vigil, custodian;  Dr. Grace Young, professor/chair of psychology;
Fifteen Years: Traci Bishop, Administration and Finance program coordinator; Roger Eriksen, professor of art; Dr. Richard Goddard, professor of anthropology; Karla Hardesty, director of Marketing and Enrollment Management; Heather Heersink, chief financial officer; Joe Mestas, grounds and nursery; Tracy Rogers, director of Human Resources.

Ten Years: Dr. Jared Beeton, professor of earth sciences; Dr. Renee Beeton, professor of chemistry; Lisa Brown, Facilities Services administrative assistant II; Laura Bruneau, professor of counselor education; Dr. Zena Buser, professor of business; Melissa Conley, Extended Studies administrative assistant; Larry Joe Hunt, head coach women’s basketball; Robert Lopez, associate athletic director; Renee Monaghan, Records administrative assistant; Diane Kissell, assistant registrar; Dr. Michael Mumper, professor of history; Jenna Neilsen, associate professor of theatre; Michael Rael, IT professional; Roselie Schlaufman, Extended Studies administrative assistant III; Dervin Taylor, head softball coach; Jeremy Taylor, assistant director of Housing and Residence Life; Dolores Vigil, custodian.

Five Years: Michael Austin, structural trades; James Capra, head baseball coach; Matthew Chacon, IT technician II; Kathleen Chavez, English instructor; Clayton Davis, custodian; Stacy Davis, technology specialist; Susan Ennis, Extended Studies administrative assistant; Alicia Harmon, Human Resources administrative assistant III; Dr. Stephanie Hensley, associate professor of teacher education; Dr. Adams Kleinschmit, associate professor of biology; Nate Pacheco, Counselor Education assistant coordinator; Erica Romero, scholarship coordinator; Maximiliano Ruybal, assistant athletic director; Dr. Michael Tomlin, professor of management; Nicole Trujillo, electronics resources and discovery librarian; Trevor Turner, academic advising coordinator; Alfonso Velasquez, instructional designer/trainer; Carissa Watts, Extended Studies director of advisement and recruitment; Dr. Jeremy Yeats, assistant professor of HPPE.

Dr. Ed Lyell, professor of business, received emeritus status.

Additional retirements include Julia Chavez, Extended Studies advisor online programs; Cecil Fell, Athletics equipment manager; Barbara Griego-Jones, HPPE administrative assistant; Cathy Heaton, English instructor and AAA coordinator; Dr. William Herrmann, assistant professor of accounting; Bea Martinez, Student Business Services director; and Tresa Rupright, police officer I.

Dr. Tracey Robinson, professor of HPPE, received the Exemplary Performance Award.