Alamosa girls win Salida Invitational, AHS boys place second

ALAMOSA – The Alamosa High School girls cross country team won the Salida Cross Country Classic last Saturday.

The Lady Mean Moose scored 34 points, eight points ahead of second place Regis Jesuit. Sarah DeLaCerda led Alamosa as she was the individual champion in 19:44.00. Madeline Castillo was sixth in 20:55.20, Elizabeth McQuitty was eighth in 21:01.10, Autumn McQuitty was ninth in 21:07.30, Lia Castillo was 10th in 21:18.00, Vanessa Villava was 25th in 22:57.90, and Abby Wubben was 34th in 23:49.10.

Also running for Alamosa were Victoria Gifford who was 39th in 24:13.80, Kaylee Gonzales-Moore who was 92nd in 27:49.70, and Zaidah Najera who was 103rd in 29:39.30.

Centauri was seventh with 220 points. Tayte Hostetter led the Lady Falcons as she placed 15th in 22:03.40. McKenna Guymon was 36th in 24:04.70, Hannah Guymon was 47th in 24:48.40, Eliza Sowards was 93rd in 27:53.90, and Taylor Bright was 118th in 34:59.70.

Center was represented by Bianey Higuera who was 114th in 33:06.80.

In the boys race, Alamosa finished second with 55 points, trailing Regis Jesuit with 39. Leading the Mean Moose was Isaac Higareda who placed second in 17:20.90. Mario Villalba was seventh in 17:48.20, Jayr Almeida was 12th in 18:23.70, Santiago Trujillo was 16th in 18:40.40, Jeremiah DeLaCerda was 18th in 18:50.30, Thaddaeus Cody was 27th in 19:16.00, and William Wilson was 30th in 19:21.90.

Other Alamosa runners included Dylan Crowther who was 36th in 19:40.70, Izaiah Casanova who was 45th in19:58.40, Giovanni Fricke who was 49th in 20:09.40, Brock Benton who was 58th in 20:18.90, Emilio Martinez who was 61st in 20:27.40, Alan Flores who was 76th in 20:59.40, Mason Gonzales who was 83rd in 21:08.80, Cody Williams who was 92nd in 21:34.10, and Christopher Brooks who was 158th in 25:48.40.

Centauri was seventh in the boys race with 212 points. Mason Sowards led the Falcons as he finished 19th in 18:50.30. Carson Bagwell was 32nd in 19:31.40, Tyrel Hostetter was 56th in 20:17.40, Troy Sowards was 79th in 21:02.40, Estevan Vega was 98th in 21:46.50, Ren Canty was 105th in 21:51.30, and Kaleb Anderson was 131st in 23:12.20.

Other Centauri runners included Liam Sowards who was 155th in 25:22.50, and Mason Finehout who was 156th in 25:24.10.

Del Norte also participated and it was led by Riley Orr who was 29th in 19:20.10, and Corbin Horrocks who was 122nd in 22:26.80.


More In Sports