Alamosa’s Jackson, Centauri’s Smith named IML Players of the Year

ALAMOSA – The Intermountain League released its All-League boys and girls basketball teams on Monday with several players from the San Luis Valley being recognized.

For the boys, Alamosa High School’s Brant Jackson was named the league’s Player of the Year, and Myles Baker was named the Coach of the Year.

Four more Mean Moose were also named All-League. In addition to being the Player of the Year, Jackson was placed on the first team along with Luke Christensen and Kade Jones. Two more Alamosa players, Kasey Jones and Jayr Almeida were both named honorable mention.

Four Centauri players were named All-League. Chaz Holman and Leighton Curtis were first team selections, and Kolten Johnson and Mason Sowards were both honorable mention.

Pagosa Springs also had four All-League selections. Colt Lewis, Gunner Dozier and Kayson Shahan were all first team, and Blake Lanier was honorable mention.

Two Montezuma-Cortez players were mentioned. Austin Wood was a first team selection, and Tay Wheat was honorable mention.

Bayfield had two selections. Jackson Queen was first team, and Lance Mazur was honorable mention.

Rounding out the boys team were Ignacio’s Eppie Quintana and Gabe Cox, both of whom were honorable mention.

For the girls, Centauri’s Abbey Smith was the Player of the Year, and Troy Reynolds was the Coach of the Year.

Smith was also placed on the first team along with Amaya Garcia and Kailyn Polzin. Two more Lady Falcons, Hannah Curtis and Braelyn Tucker, were honorable mention.

Alamosa had four selections. Sydney Jackson, Charley Higham and Brooke Gonzales were all first team, while Mary Masias was honorable mention.

Pagosa Springs had three selections. Chantelle Caldwell and Annie O’Donnell were first team, and Karson Shahan was honorable mention.

Ignacio had two selection as Harmony Reynolds and Lacey Brunson were both first team.

Bayfield also had two selections with Alaysia Kremer and Genesis Barrera were both honorable mention.