Capulin welcomes community library

CAPULIN — Friday afternoon, July 27th, was the grand opening of Conejos Library District’s Capulin Branch.

Conejos Library District Board President Celina Espinoza gave a heartfelt dedication speech. “This has been a four-year project in the making and is an exciting opportunity to demonstrate the power of a rural community working together in support of their children.”

The Conejos Library opened in 1978 in La Jara. Conejos Library became its own district in 2000 and was assigned a mil levy. Becoming a library district provided the library with the autonomy to become its own fiscal agent, manage its own budget and save any carryover for future expansion and expenses. In 2008 the library district, through the use of grants and the mil levy saved enough money to open the Antonito Library Branch. Now, 10 years later, the district celebrates the opening of the new Capulin Library Branch.

The ceremony was attended by Senator Larry Crowder, Capulin Water District President Vivien Rivera, Christy Doon from the Department of Local Affairs, and Dr. Sharon Morris and Joyce Johnson from the Colorado State Library. Both the Department of Local Affairs and Colorado State Library offered certificates of recognition to Maria DeHerrera for her selfless dedication, bringing literacy and libraries to rural communities in Conejos County.  Many members from of the Capulin community came out to support the new library as well, bringing cookies and punch for all to enjoy!

 Caption: Maria DeHerrera, center cuts the ribbon on the new Capulin Library. Conejos Library District board members are from left Celina Espinoza, Beverly Miller, Danette Sowards, Maria DeHerrera, Stephanie Goldbranson, Sherri Morch and Capulin resident Veronica Medina./Courtesy photos by Kelly Sari



Video News