La Jara election awaits tiebreaker

LA JARA — La Jara’s town election is still waiting for a tiebreaker to determine which candidate will earn one of the open seats this spring.

There were three trustee seats up for election, each for a four-year term. Four candidates competed for the three open seats with Victor Salazar and Dee Ann Espinoza retaining their positions on the board, the third seat currently waiting for a tiebreaker and candidate James Lee Bryant not quite making the cut.

Candidates Robert J. Wagoner and Incumbent Mary Ann Gallegos each received 37 votes during the April 3 election, but the town is still waiting for overseas ballot to see if those will break the tie. If not, the town board will deal with the issue this Thursday, April 12, during its meeting, according to Town Clerk Shawn Pagontta.

Incumbents Salazar and Espinoza both earned seats on the board with 51 and 49 votes, respectively. Candidate Bryant received 36 votes.