Lueck remains chair of Adams State BOT

Courtesy photo ASU Trustee Michele Lueck remains chair of the Board following Friday vote.

ALAMOSA  The Adams State University Board of Trustees met Friday and voted for Trustee Michele Lueck to continue as chair of the Board and Trustee David Tandberg to serve as vice-chair.

Lueck, president and CEO of the Colorado Health Institute, has served as an Adams State trustee since May, 2016. She first accepted the position as chairman in August, 2020. Tandberg, Ph.D., senior vice president of policy research and strategic initiatives at State Higher Education Executive Officers Association, has served as a trustee since June, 2020. He earned his bachelor’s degree from Adams State in 2002.

Other board members are Pam Bricker, Class of 2003, Del Norte business owner; Donna Griego, Class of 2003 and 2012, Adams State retiree; Amanda DeLaRosa, Lumina Foundation state policy strategy officer; Jonathan N. Marquez, Class of 2013, VMware tax manager and CPA; Arthur Ortegon, partner with the law firm Wilkinson Barker Knauer, LLP; John Singletary, real estate broker and developer in Pueblo; and Randy Wright, Class of 1984, operations manager for FormationAg in the San Luis Valley.

The Board of Trustees consists of nine voting members appointed by the governor with the consent of the state Senate, and two non-voting members elected by the faculty and the students, respectively. The two current non-voting members are Beth Bonnstetter, Ph.D., faculty trustee and professor of communication, and Courtney Hocking, student trustee.

Bonnstetter thanked the board members for approving the rise in the faculty salary floor to 80 percent of the College and University Professional Association (CUPA) level in their May, 2021, meeting. Over 70 percent of faculty will see an increase to their base salary, with an average increase of $5,195.



More In News