Medical Hall of Fame Class of 2018 set

ALAMOSA — This year’s class of the Medical Hall of Fame for the San Luis Valley for 2018 does not disappoint.

The individuals who make up this class of two nurses, one pharmacist and four doctors is an important example of what makes the SLV unique and what it is today due to their contributions. These pillars of our community deserve this special recognition for dedicating the majority of their careers in healthcare service to the citizens of the San Luis Valley.

On Friday, May 18, , the public is welcome to join the committee at the awards ceremony at 5 p.m. at SLV Health’s Education & Conference Center, 1921 Main Street, Alamosa, to recognize these individuals. Heavy appetizers will be served.  The presentations for the honored individuals will begin at 5:30 p.m.

Danny Burns, Rph served the Valley residents as a beloved registered pharmacist. He helped many people and improved access to medicine over the years in the Valley.  His pharmacies were located in Monte Vista.

Dr. Norman Haug was a committed leader to healthcare in the SLV, using his leadership skills to bring the Rio Grande Hospital to reality, bring rotating medical residents to the SLV, help establish the SLV HMO as well as serving in many other roles that contributed to the well-being of the SLV community and beyond.

Ann Headlee Holmes, RN worked at the Alamosa Community Hospital, in Public Health and later was the Director of Nursing at the Colorado State Veteran’s Center in Home Lake. She served on boards and in may other roles that contributed to patient care across the Valley.

Dr. James “J” Ruddell, came to Alamosa in 1960 and later trained in surgery. He was the first surgeon in the SLV to perform “laparoscopic” surgery and contributed in many ways to improving outcomes for the patients of the Valley.

Dr. Richard “Paul” Wagner served the San Luis Valley as a skilled ophthalmologist as well as serving on the board for the Alamosa Hospital and Alamosa County Ambulance District.

Karen L Krueger Wagner, RN, worked as a nurse for the Alamosa Hospital for many years, treating patients, students, and co-workers with love and respect.

Dr. H. Dale Thomas was a pioneer and beloved doctor for many years in Conejos County.  He was instrumental in founding and opening Conejos County Hospital as well as performing surgeries and delivering many babies in the SLV.

Many thanks go to the Medical Hall of Fame committee members: Lois Booth, Julie Geiser, Kelly Gurule, Grant Hurley, Robert Kelly, Barbara Mondragon, Ted Morrison, Jim Robbins, Jackie Scheidegger and Janet Whitmer.