SGHSSF Scholarships awarded

Pictured back row left to right: Esmeralda Martinez, Blanca Cadenas, Ashley Martinez, Itzel Molina, Alexis Lobato, Abby Corona, Gerica Rodriguez, Brooke Paine, Aneleise Esquer-Montoya, Elora Escalante, Sammantha Vialpando, Margarita Loya, Annahy Quezada, Walter Roybal. Front row left to right: Dylan Milner, Marcos Martinez-Martinez, Ambrosio Mondragon, Mathias Gilmartin, Cullen

BLANCA  - On May 24, the Sierra Grande High School Scholarship Foundation, Inc. (SGHSSF, Inc) awarded $21,900 to 18 graduating Seniors at their graduation ceremony.  This year’s scholarships were made in memory of Helen Gonzales, Lauren “Larry” Bussey, and Loren Franke – all three passed away in the fall of 2018 and were all Emeritus Board members prior to their passing. 

Gonzales was the founder of the Fort Garland Revitalization Committee scholarship fund in 1989 and dedicated her life to various community service projects including the all faith community Passion Play in which she produced and directed for over nine years. She established numerous relationships with donors and community members providing a strong foundation of success for the scholarship fund. 

Bussey was a former administrator of Sierra Grande School District.  He developed a love for the community and the students.  In his final years on the board he was instrumental in establishing nonprofit charitable status for the scholarship foundation.  Bussey not only contributed his time and energy to the organization, he also provided substantial donations prior to his passing and through his estate. 

Franke and his wife, JoAnn, moved to the community in 1994 and immediately began their service to the scholarship committee.  He was key in fundraising activities and provided a strong sense of integrity to the organization. 

Presenting the awards were current SGHSSF, Inc. President, Walter Roybal, and Vice-President Esmeralda Martinez.  Graduates receiving scholarships are as follows: 

Blanca Cadenas-$1,000, Abby Corona-$1,400, Elora Escalante-$900, Evander Espinoza-$1,600, Aneleise Esquer-Montoya-$1,300, Mathias Gilmartin-$700, Alexis Lobato-$1,100, Margarita Loya-$1,100, Ashley Martinez-$1,400, Marcos Martinez-Martinez-$1,700, Dylan Milner-$1,100, Itzel Molina-$800, Ambrosio Mondragon-$900, Brooke Paine-$1,400, Annahy Quezada-$1,300, Gerica Rodriguez-$1,700, Cullen Rushing-$1,000, and Sammantha Vialpando-$1,500.


Video News